Trials, Joys & Tribulations of Motherhood…whilst chasing a dream

10 Apr

I love my son, he’s the best part of everyday and i love him more everyday…if that’s even possible. As a working mother, i made a decision to never take work home  so i can focus all my attention on him.

As much as i love my son, i find that my focus on him hampers my business projects. He has a nanny, but when i get home, she knocks off and i take over, leaving me with no time to focus on projects i can only do after hours. I know there’re 24 hours in a day, most of which i spend at work, but by the time my son falls asleep, i’m tired and just want to relax. I don’t even find time to read novels or magazines, something i used to absorb myself in.

I ask myself if i could be using my son as an excuse to not just ‘get on with things’ or if i do have a time management problem.  if i use the hours i could be spending with my son to focus on business projects, when do i then make time for him? will that not make me a bad mother? will he not turn out to be a bad child and blame me for not making time for him?

last night i came across a tweet that read ‘the most accomplished did not sit around waiting for things to happen to them. they went out and happened to things’. Someone was quoting Leonardo Da Vinci. I want to go out and happen to things but between my work and my son and of course my partner, when do i find the time?

One Response to “Trials, Joys & Tribulations of Motherhood…whilst chasing a dream”

  1. Miranda April 11, 2012 at 1:23 am #

    unfortunately (for all of us) there’s no magic formula ;( One just needs to get on with it. Whether it means cutting off the 30mins spent watching TV or waking up an extra hour early. For the things we love, we need TO MAKE time. Be encouraged – even just 30mins a day invested in your dreams amounts to at least 3hours a week. That’s better than nothing 😉 Small consistent steps will get you there…

Leave a Reply

